Estate agents in Telford at a glance

Every ranked estate agent in round estate-agents-2026-09, with its score out of 100, public ratings and the industry qualifications we could source. Full evidence is on each assessment page.
Rankestate agentScoreRatingsQualificationsBest for
1 Belvoir 69.7 Google 4.8/5 (201) The Property Ombudsman, Propertymark, Client Money Protection Best overall: sellers and landlords wanting sales, lettings and mortgages in one place
2 Coleman Estates 69.2 Google 4.8/5 (518) The Property Ombudsman, Safeagent, Client Money Protection Wellington sellers and landlords wanting one local office
3 DB Roberts 69.0 Google 4.9/5 (354) The Property Ombudsman, RICS, Client Money Protection (RICS), RICS Client Money Protection landlords wanting a dedicated management office
4 DB Roberts 69.0 Google 4.9/5 (401) The Property Ombudsman, RICS, Client Money Protection (RICS), RICS Client Money Protection sellers and landlords visiting Telford Shopping Centre
5 Newton Fallowell 68.6 Google 4.7/5 (147) The Property Ombudsman, Client Money Protection, Propertymark Wellington sellers and landlords wanting a franchise branch
6 Nock Deighton 68.2 Google 4.8/5 (526) The Property Ombudsman, ARLA Propertymark, NAEA Propertymark sellers and landlords across Telford and Shropshire
7 Foden Property 68.0 Google 4.6/5 (109) The Property Ombudsman, NAEA Propertymark, ARLA Propertymark, Client Money Protection Telford landlords wanting published letting fees
8 Barbers 67.9 Google 4.8/5 (145) The Property Ombudsman, NAEA Propertymark, ARLA Propertymark sellers across Shropshire wanting a four-office agent
9 Nick Tart 67.0 Google 4.9/5 (145) The Property Ombudsman, Propertymark Ironbridge and Telford sellers wanting a local office
10 Mannleys 66.2 Google 4.4/5 (170) The Property Ombudsman Wellington sellers and landlords wanting an independent agent

The ranking

Scored on the home trades rubric v2.0.

  1. 1rank

    Belvoir

    Best overall estate agent: sellers and landlords wanting sales, lettings and mortgages in one place

    Our view is that Belvoir Telford suits sellers and landlords who want sales, lettings and mortgage advice from one branch with documented redress and client money protection [1] [2]. The Google base stands at 201 reviews at 4.8 [5]. The gap is insurance cover, which is not stated [1] [2].

    69.7 / 100

    Strengths

    • The paperwork is unusually complete: the register lists the business [3], while the site states Propertymark membership and client money protection with reference A3501 [2].

    • Tenant charges are published as a full scale under the Tenant Fees Act, from holding deposit to permitted payments [2].

    • The company record is checkable: BELLA MERCIA LIMITED has been active since 27 March 2014 with its registered office at the branch address [4].

    Limitations

    • No insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Newport, Market Drayton, Shifnal

  2. 2rank

    Coleman Estates

    Best for: Wellington sellers and landlords wanting one local office

    Our view is that Coleman Estates suits sellers and landlords who want a single Wellington office with a company record going back to 1999 and published tenant-find fees [3] [5]. Review volume is high at 518 Google reviews at 4.8 [6]. The sales side publishes no fee scale, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [3].

    69.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: COLEMAN ESTATES LTD has been active since 11 May 1999 with its registered office at the Wellington branch address [5].

    • Tenant-find fees are published as a scale from £600 plus VAT by rent band [3], and the site offers free sales and lettings valuations [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [4], and the site states Safeagent accreditation alongside Ombudsman membership [3].

    Limitations

    • No sales fee scale and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [3].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Stafford, Broseley, Albrighton

  3. 3rank

    DB Roberts

    Best for: landlords wanting a dedicated management office

    Our view is that DB Roberts Oakengates suits landlords who want the firm's management department looking after the tenancy [1]. The Google base is large at 354 reviews at 4.9 [6]. Fees only emerge at valuation since no scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    69.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • Oakengates houses the lettings and property management department, with its team and opening hours published [1].

    • The company record is checkable: D B ROBERTS & PARTNERS LIMITED has been active since 7 December 2004 [5].

    • Redress is on the register [4], and the compliance page states client money protection with RICS [3].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale or VAT position is published, and no insurance details appear on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Oakengates, Shrewsbury, Wellington, Stafford, Wolverhampton

  4. 4rank

    DB Roberts

    Best for: sellers and landlords visiting Telford Shopping Centre

    Our view is that DB Roberts Telford suits sellers and landlords who want a town-centre branch backed by a company record going back to 2004 [1] [5]. The Google base is large at 401 reviews at 4.9 [6]. Fees only emerge at valuation since no scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    69.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • The branch sits in the Southwater Arcade with its address published alongside the wider branch network [1].

    • The company record is checkable: D B ROBERTS & PARTNERS LIMITED has been active since 7 December 2004 [5].

    • Redress is on the register [4], and the compliance page states client money protection with RICS [3].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale or VAT position is published, and no insurance details appear on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Shrewsbury, Wellington, Oakengates, Stafford, Wolverhampton

  5. 5rank

    Newton Fallowell

    Best for: Wellington sellers and landlords wanting a franchise branch

    Our view is that Newton Fallowell Telford suits sellers and landlords who want a Wellington branch with stated redress, published tenant fees and a checkable operator company [3] [4]. The Google base stands at 147 reviews at 4.7 [5]. Sales fee amounts only emerge on enquiry, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    68.6 / 100

    Strengths

    • The branch states Ombudsman redress membership, Propertymark membership and client money protection together on its tenant information page [3].

    • Tenant charges are published as a scale under the Tenant Fees Act, and the operator, VAT number and contact email are printed alongside [3].

    • The company record is checkable: LABOCHA & UPTON LTD has been active since 14 June 2010 with its registered office at the branch address [4].

    Limitations

    • No insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [3].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Dawley, Madeley, Ironbridge

  6. 6rank

    Nock Deighton

    Best for: sellers and landlords across Telford and Shropshire

    Our view is that Nock Deighton suits sellers and landlords who want a multi-office agent with a long company record and several service lines in one place [1] [4]. Published fees are missing, so costs only emerge at valuation, and insurance cover is not stated [1]. Redress and industry memberships are documented on the register and the site [2] [3].

    68.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • The Telford branch sits on the Property Ombudsman register under Nock Deighton (1831) Limited, with the branch address and phone matching the website [3].

    • The company record is checkable: NOCK DEIGHTON (1831) LIMITED has been active since 9 May 2008 [4].

    • You get sales, lettings, land and auction routes from one site, with free valuations and branch contact details throughout [1].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale or VAT position is published on the pages checked, and no insurance details appear either [1].

    Service area: Telford, Newport, Wellington, Shrewsbury, Bridgnorth, Ironbridge

  7. 7rank

    Foden Property

    Best for: Telford landlords wanting published letting fees

    Our view is that Foden Property suits landlords who want a small Telford agent with every letting charge published up front [2]. The Google base stands at 109 reviews at 4.6 [6]. The site itself lets it down with placeholder copy on the homepage, sales fees are missing, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    68.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • The business sits on the Property Ombudsman register as Foden Property (Lawley) Limited [4].

    • Landlord charges are published in full with VAT: a £654 set-up fee with 12% a month managed or £654 let-only, plus named extras [2].

    • ARLA and NAEA Propertymark membership with client money protection is stated on the site [3].

    Limitations

    • The homepage still shows placeholder copy, and no insurance details are published [1].

    Service area: Telford

  8. 8rank

    Barbers

    Best for: sellers across Shropshire wanting a four-office agent

    Our view is that Barbers suits sellers who want a four-office Shropshire agent with licensed Propertymark membership and registered redress [1] [2]. The Google base stands at 145 reviews at 4.8 [4]. Fee amounts only emerge on enquiry, and insurance cover is not stated [1].

    67.9 / 100

    Strengths

    • The business sits on the Property Ombudsman register for sales, lettings and leasehold management [2].

    • The site states licensed NAEA and ARLA Propertymark membership across its four Shropshire offices [1].

    • The company record is checkable: A M ARTHAN LIMITED has been active since 21 May 2007 with its registered office at the Wellington branch [3].

    Limitations

    • No sales fee scale and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Newport, Market Drayton, Whitchurch

  9. 9rank

    Nick Tart

    Best for: Ironbridge and Telford sellers wanting a local office

    Our view is that Nick Tart Ironbridge suits sellers who want a heritage-town office with a named local team and auction, survey and conveyancing links [1]. The Google base stands at 145 reviews at 4.9 [4]. Fee amounts only emerge at valuation, the operator company is untraced, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    67.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • The branch page names a licensed Propertymark agent on the Ironbridge sales team and contact, valuation and viewing routes [1].

    • The group site traces the business to its first Ironbridge office in 1991 with six offices today [2].

    • Ombudsman registration for the brand's sales and lettings services is listed on the register [3].

    Limitations

    • The branch operator company could not be traced on Companies House, and no insurance details are published [1] [2].

    Service area: Ironbridge, Telford, Bridgnorth, Much Wenlock, Newport

  10. 10rank

    Mannleys

    Best for: Wellington sellers and landlords wanting an independent agent

    Our view is that Mannleys suits sellers and landlords who want an independent Wellington office with a checkable company record and a named local team [1] [3]. The Google rating stands at 4.4 from 170 reviews [4]. Fees only emerge at valuation since no scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1].

    66.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • The business sits on the Property Ombudsman register as Mannleys Limited for sales and lettings [2].

    • The company record is checkable: MANNLEYS LIMITED has been active since 13 October 2016 with its registered office at the branch address [3].

    • The site offers free sale and rental valuations with a no-obligation quotation route and publishes customer reviews [1].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale or VAT position is published, and no insurance details appear on the pages checked [1].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington

Also researched

Eligible and scored providers outside the published ranking.

  1. DB Roberts Wellington 65.9 / 100 DB Roberts Wellington is the firm's original branch at 30 Market Street, opened in 1964, with D B ROBERTS & PARTNERS LIMITED active since 2004 behind it [1] [5]. The branch page gives the team, opening hours and free valuations [1]. The company is on the Property Ombudsman register [4].
  2. Your Move 66.0 / 100 Your Move Wellington is a Market Street branch of a national agency network, operating in Wellington for over 19 years with sales, lettings, conveyancing and financial services [1]. Its pages publish opening times, a named team and a fee model with no sale no fee [1] [2]. Ombudsman membership is stated on the company site [3].

How we chose

We started from the forty-nine estate agents Google Maps shows across Telford. Scheme memberships were sourced from the ombudsman register [2], each firm's own website and review platforms. Each business must first meet our basic checks: it is who it says it is, it is trading today and can be reached, and it holds the redress membership the law requires. Twelve firms met all three and were assessed; the ten highest scores make the table. What customers say counts most toward the score, then qualifications, then whether the firm has traded two years or more and whether its cover is stated, then pricing clarity and website detail. All evidence is dated early September 2026.

How to hire

Start by matching the agent to the job. A selling agent values your home, photographs and lists it, runs viewings and negotiates offers. A letting agent finds tenants, collects rent and looks after the tenancy, with tiers from tenant-find to full management. Some branches add mortgage or conveyancing links, so ask what is handled in-house and what is referred elsewhere. When you first enquire, say whether you are selling, letting or both, plus the property type, the area and your timescale.

Telford and Wrekin adds local wrinkles worth knowing before you instruct. The borough holds eight conservation areas, including Wellington and the Severn Gorge, where you may need permission for works that would otherwise go through unchecked [9]. Inside the Ironbridge Gorge World Heritage Site an Article 4 direction means even minor alterations to a dwelling can need consent, so Gorge sellers should expect sharper buyer questions about windows, doors and extensions [10]. Newer family streets keep rising around Lawley alongside the older town centres [13]. Tell the agent which side of that divide your property sits on, and check the valuation reflects it.

Redress is the legal check. Every estate agent dealing with homes in the UK must belong to a redress scheme, and letting agents and managers in England and Wales must too; the law names two schemes, The Property Ombudsman and the Property Redress Scheme, and an agent that stays out risks a fine of up to five thousand pounds [7]. Type the trading name into the ombudsman register of businesses and check the exact name that comes back matches the firm you are hiring [2]. If the name is missing or different, ask why before you go further.

Landlords should check money protection next. Any letting or management agent in England that holds client money must belong to a client money protection scheme, with the certificate on show in the office and on the website, free to anyone who asks [3]. Recognised schemes include Propertymark, RICS, Safeagent, Client Money Protect, Money Shield and UKALA [3]. Fines reach thirty thousand pounds for trading without cover and five thousand for hiding the certificate [3]. Voluntary marks such as ARLA and NAEA Propertymark signal extra standards but are a choice, not a legal badge; the Propertymark finder shows who holds them [6].

Know who pays what on a let. The Tenant Fees Act bans most charges to tenants in England, so the landlord pays the agent and each tenant payment must sit on the short legal list of permitted ones, such as a holding deposit or capped interest on late rent [5] [8]. Published landlord schedules in this round run from tenant-find scales to managed percentages with VAT on top. Ask the agent to point at the line in its schedule behind every pound it quotes, and to confirm which figures include VAT.

Get two or three written quotes on the same scope so you compare like with like. Each quote should state the fee and whether it is a share of the sale price or a fixed sum, the VAT on top, the tie-in period and notice terms for sole agency, what marketing and photography cost, and what you owe if the sale falls through or you find the buyer yourself [1]. Which? reports sole-agency fees typically at one to two per cent and multi-agency at two to three, so treat an outlier far above or below as a question rather than a bargain [1].

A typical sale runs valuation, written instruction, photography and listing, viewings, offers and negotiation, then conveyancing to completion. Expect the agent to agree viewing arrangements and feedback with you at instruction, to report every offer promptly with the buyer's position, and to keep chasing the chain until contracts exchange. A typical let runs valuation of the rent, safety checks and certificate ordering, marketing, referencing, inventory and check-in, then rent collection and inspections. At each handover, from instruction to offer accepted to tenancy start, get the position restated in writing before the next stage begins.

Line up the paperwork before the board goes up. You must order an energy certificate before marketing, it grades the home from A to G and lasts ten years, and your agent may arrange one through an accredited assessor [4]. At instruction, keep the signed contract with the fee, the tie-in and the marketing costs beside the full fee schedule and the certificate. Landlords also file the tenancy agreement and the deposit protection detail, which sits apart from money protection: the tenant's deposit must sit in one of three government-backed schemes within thirty days of receipt, and come back within ten days of an agreed settlement [11]. Check the free certificate service first to see whether your home already holds a valid one [4].

Pricing

As of autumn 2026, selling guides put sole-agency commission typically at 1–2% of the sale price and multi-agency at 2–3%, with the average seller paying roughly 1.3% including VAT in 2025 [1]. On a £200,000 sale, 1% plus VAT comes to £2,400. Quoted fees stretch from under 1% to 3%, so the spread between agents is wide [1].

An auction sale prices differently from a treaty sale. Expect an entry fee to catalogue the lot, a reserve agreed in writing below which it cannot sell, and a buyer's fee on the fall of the hammer alongside the seller's commission. Withdrawing after instruction usually triggers a withdrawal charge, so read that clause before you sign. Ask for every figure, including VAT, on one page next to the reserve.

Letting guides for 2026 put tenant-find at 8–12% of the first year's rent or a fixed £400 to £1,500, rent collection at 3–12% a month, and full management at 10–15% for independents, rising past 15% at the large chains, all before VAT at 20% [8]. A headline 12% therefore bills at 14.4%. For a Telford anchor, Foden Property publishes a £654 set-up with 12% a month managed, VAT stated.

On a managed let, the rent level moves the bill most, since the monthly percentage scales with it, then the void policy, since some contracts charge through empty months and others do not. Renewal fees, annual inspection charges and check-out reports usually sit outside the headline rate, and each one should name its VAT position [8]. A twelve-month tenancy with one renewal costs less to run than three short lets with three set-ups and three inventories. Ask which extras your property is likely to trigger before you compare percentages.

The sale price moves the selling fee most, since a percentage scales with it, then the contract type, with multi-agency costing more than sole agency [1]. Marketing extras such as photography, floor plans and premium portal slots add hundreds unless the quote folds them in. On lettings, the tier moves the bill: tenant-find once versus a monthly share for years, plus extras such as inventories, renewals and check-outs billed apart [8].

Ask whether VAT sits inside or on top of every figure, since guides quote both ways and agents advertise the pre-VAT rate [8]. Get the base in writing: a share of the price achieved or the asking price, the tie-in length and notice period, withdrawal and marketing charges, and what falls due if the sale collapses [1]. Keep every quote, contract and invoice together until completion.

Red flags

No trace of the trading name on the ombudsman register when you search it yourself [2].

A letting quote that names no client money protection scheme and shows no membership certificate [3].

One headline fee with no VAT position, so you cannot tell what the invoice will say [1] [8].

A sole-agency tie-in with no end date and no notice term in the written contract [1].

A valuation with no comparable local sales behind it, pitched far above every other quote.

Marketing your home with no energy certificate ordered first [4].

An upfront payment taken before any marketing, with no written terms for what it buys.

Pressure to sign a sole-agency tie-in at the valuation table, with no time to take the contract away and read it [1].

A managed-let offer with no written inventory, inspection routine or end-of-tenancy process behind it.

An agent that cannot name its redress scheme or money protection scheme when asked directly [2] [3].

Questions about estate agents

How much should selling cost in Telford?

Selling guides put sole-agency commission typically at one to two per cent of the sale price and multi-agency at two to three, with the average seller paying roughly one point three per cent including VAT in twenty twenty-five [1]. On a two-hundred-thousand-pound sale, one per cent plus VAT comes to two thousand four hundred pounds. Get two or three quotes on the same scope and compare the bottom line.

Should I pick sole agency or multi-agency?

Sole agency costs less, typically one to two per cent, but under sole selling rights the agent can claim the fee even if you find the buyer yourself. Multi-agency brings more shop windows at two to three per cent [1]. For most sellers one strong sole agent with a short tie-in beats two agents splitting attention. Read the tie-in and notice terms before you sign either.

How do I check an agent belongs to a redress scheme?

Type the exact trading name into the ombudsman register of businesses and check the name that comes back matches the firm you are hiring [2]. Every residential estate agent must belong to a redress scheme by law, either The Property Ombudsman or the Property Redress Scheme [7]. If the name is missing or different, ask why before you go further.

Does my agent need Propertymark or ARLA membership by law?

No. The legal must is redress membership, not a trade badge [7]. Propertymark, ARLA, NAEA, RICS and Safeagent marks signal extra standards and are worth having, but they are a choice. Client money protection is different: any letting agent holding your rent must belong to a recognised scheme, so check that certificate separately [3]. Check claimed marks on the issuing finder before you rely on them [6].

Who pays the tenant fees on my let?

You do, as the landlord. The Tenant Fees Act bans most charges to tenants in England, so each tenant payment must sit on the short legal list of permitted ones, such as a holding deposit or capped interest on late rent [5] [8]. Ask the agent to point at the line in its schedule behind every pound it quotes, and to confirm which figures include VAT.

How do I know my rent is held safely?

Through client money protection, which the law requires of any letting agent holding client funds in England [3]. The agent must hold your money in a proper client account and show its scheme certificate in the office and on its website, free to anyone who asks. Fines run to thirty thousand pounds for trading without cover [3]. Ask to see the certificate before you hand over keys.

Do I need an energy certificate before marketing?

Yes. You must order an energy certificate before marketing, it grades the home from A to G and it lasts ten years [4]. Your agent may arrange one through an accredited assessor, and the cost lands with you. Because the certificate must be in place before the listing goes live, order it alongside the valuation rather than after it. Check the free certificate service first to see whether your home already holds a valid one [4].

Which areas do Telford agents cover, and can I meet one in person?

Every firm on this page works Telford itself, with most naming Wellington beside it and several reaching Newport, Shrewsbury, Stafford and the villages between. The town-centre branch sits inside the shopping centre, which is signposted off the ring road with its own car parks [12]. Wellington and Ironbridge sellers can walk into a local office instead. Send your postcode with the enquiry and ask which office and which negotiator handles your street.

Does it matter what time of year I sell or let?

The market runs all year, but the season still shapes the sale. Spring brings longer days and tidier gardens, which photograph well and suit viewings after work. Winter shortens the viewing window and can slow conveyancing around the holidays. Lets turn fastest when the certificates, safety checks and inventory are ready before marketing starts. Get the photography and paperwork sorted first, then launch when your property looks its best.

My home is in Ironbridge or a conservation area — does that change the sale?

It can, in two places. Wellington and the Severn Gorge sit in conservation areas, where you may need permission for works that would otherwise go through unchecked [9]. Inside the Ironbridge Gorge World Heritage Site an Article 4 direction means even minor alterations to a dwelling can need consent [10]. Tell your agent about listed status, past extensions and replacement windows up front, so the listing describes the property accurately and buyers face no surprises.

How is this ranking decided?

We started from forty-nine local candidates and assessed the twelve that met our basic checks: each is who it says it is, is trading today and can be reached, and holds the redress membership the law requires. What customers say counts most toward the score, then qualifications, then trading history and stated cover, then pricing clarity and website detail. Firms are listed in score order.

How often is the ranking updated?

Each round carries its evidence date, and this one is dated September 2026, so you can see how fresh every check is. We reassess the table as new evidence arrives and publish a new round when the picture changes. If you run one of the firms listed, use the Claim a listing link on the page to send updated detail for the next round.

What if my agent will not fix a complaint?

Work through the agent's own complaints process first and keep copies of everything, including the contract, the fee schedule and every email. If the firm will not put it right, ask for its final position in writing, then take the case to its redress scheme, either The Property Ombudsman or the Property Redress Scheme, which review deadlocked complaints free of charge [7] [2]. Check which scheme the firm names in its contract before you instruct.

The bottom line

For most Telford sellers and landlords, start with Belvoir: one branch for the sale, the let and the mortgage, with redress and money protection documented and tenant charges published. If you are letting and want every charge in writing before you sign, Foden Property publishes its full letting scale with VAT. Wellington sellers who want a single local office with a long record should start with Coleman Estates instead.

Then get two or three itemised quotes on the same written scope and check each trading name on the ombudsman register before you instruct. Agree the fee, the VAT, the tie-in and the marketing costs in writing, and keep every quote, contract and certificate together until completion.

Sources

  1. Which? — estate agent fees and contracts Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  2. The Property Ombudsman — register of businesses Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  3. GOV.UK — protecting clients' money if you're a property agent Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  4. GOV.UK — selling a home: Energy Performance Certificates Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  5. GOV.UK — Tenant Fees Act 2019: guidance Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  6. Propertymark — find a property agent near you Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  7. GOV.UK — registering with a redress scheme as a property agent Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  8. Landlord Studio — how much do letting agents charge: UK fees explained (2026) Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  9. Telford & Wrekin Council — conservation areas Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  10. Telford & Wrekin Council — Ironbridge Gorge World Heritage Site residents guide Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  11. GOV.UK — deposit protection schemes and landlords Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  12. Telford Centre — getting here and parking Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  13. Telford & Wrekin Council newsroom — Lawley housing plans Retrieved 4 September 2026.

Corrections and business responses

Tell us what needs checking, or ask to claim a listing and reply to an assessment.