Ranked round mot-centres-2026-09 · published 3 September 2026
Best MOT centres in Telford 2026
Last checked
60 providers researched, 10 ranked
Signed off by Douglas Franco
An MOT centre tests whether your car meets legal road-safety and environmental standards — brakes, lights, tyres, emissions, structure. It is a pass-or-fail inspection, not a service: a car can pass its MOT and still be overdue an oil change, and it can fail on a single bulb [3].
Any DVSA-authorised station in Telford can test your car, and most combine testing with servicing and repairs — which is convenient and needs watching in equal measure. Below: how we chose the centres, how to book and what to check, the legal maximum fee and rough repair costs as of autumn 2026, warning signs, and answers to drivers' most common questions.
MOT centres in Telford at a glance
Every ranked mot centre in round mot-centres-2026-09, with its score out of 100, public ratings and the industry qualifications we could source. Full evidence is on each assessment page.
Best for: Servicing plans across four Telford branches
Our judgement: this centre suits you if you want a well-reviewed independent with several Telford branches and online booking [1][3]. We rate the review score and branch coverage as strengths because both are documented. Confirm the MOT fee and the retest terms before booking, as the site does not publish them [1].
72.1 / 100
Strengths
You see strong customer evidence: 4.8 from 740 Google reviews, seen 3 September 2026 [3].
Four Telford branches plus online booking and monthly service plans from £12 give you options on place and payment [1].
Limitations
IMI-approved and EV-qualified technicians are stated on the page [1].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Our judgement: this branch suits you if a written guarantee on the work matters to you, with MOTs and most repairs available on the same site [1]. We rate the guarantee as a strength because it is stated plainly. Confirm the MOT-only price and the retest terms before booking, as only the bundle saving is published [1].
70.2 / 100
Strengths
You get a written guarantee: two years or 24,000 miles on garage work and new parts [1].
The branch lists MOTs, Class 7 MOTs, servicing, tyres and repairs with opening hours and booking options [1].
Limitations
No standalone MOT fee is shown, only a bundle saving of up to 50% with a service, so phone for the test-only price [1].
The guarantee is stated but no insurance amount is published [1].
Best for: Discounted MOTs with published service prices
Our judgement: this branch suits you if price matters and you want the figures upfront, backed by a DVSA-approval statement and a company record going back to 1979 [1][2]. We rate the published prices as a strength because few rivals show theirs. Confirm the retest policy in writing before the test, as the page does not state it [1].
69.3 / 100
Strengths
You can compare costs before calling: MOTs from £41.99, fitted tyres from £29, interim service from £115 and full service from £205 [1].
The page states DVSA approval for the MOT centre and lists free Wi-Fi, TV and toilets at the branch [1].
Limitations
The 4.1 rating from 825 reviews sits below most centres in this round, so read recent reviews before booking [3].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Our judgement: this branch suits you if you want a quick MOT appointment with a written service guarantee behind the work [1]. We rate the stated Class 4 approval and the guarantee as strengths because both are on the page. Confirm the MOT fee and retest terms before booking, as no test price is shown [1].
69.1 / 100
Strengths
You see an approved Class 4 MOT centre with same-day and next-day appointments and online booking [1].
Services carry a 12-month or 12,000-mile guarantee, and the page names the branch manager [1].
Limitations
No company record matching this branch was found — the only similar name sits in Wales — so history stays neutral [1].
Service area: Dawley Bank, Ketley Bank, Overdale, Priorslee, Stirchley, Telford
Our judgement: this centre suits Honda drivers who want servicing and the MOT under one roof with a long company record behind it [1][2]. We rate the dealer setup and history as strengths because both are documented. Confirm the MOT fee and what the service covers before booking [1].
68.2 / 100
Strengths
You get dealer-level servicing with MOT booking in one place, plus a price-match guarantee [1].
The group company has been incorporated since 1975, and the branch holds 4.5 from 285 reviews [2][3].
Limitations
No service or MOT prices are published, only plans and a price-match promise, so ask for figures first [1].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Best for: Long-established tyre and autocare branch
Our judgement: this branch suits you if you want a long-running autocare name in Ketley with high review volume behind it [1][2][3]. We rate the history and hours as strengths because both are documented. Confirm the MOT fee and the retest terms before booking, as neither is published [1].
67.6 / 100
Strengths
You see 4.5 from 524 Google reviews, seen 3 September 2026, plus branch opening hours across six days and bank holidays [1][3].
The company behind the branch has been incorporated since 1970 [2].
Limitations
No prices appear on the branch page, so you cannot compare the MOT or service cost before calling [1].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Our judgement: this is the Telford MOT branch with the most customer reviews behind it, which makes it a practical starting point if you want a large operation with Sunday hours [1][3]. We rate the review volume and the stated test range as strengths because both are documented. Confirm the MOT price and the retest terms before you book, as neither is published [1].
67.3 / 100
Strengths
You get the round's biggest review base to judge by: 4.3 from 1,067 Google reviews, seen 3 September 2026 [3].
The branch lists MOTs, Class 7 MOTs, servicing and tyres with seven-day opening hours and online booking [1].
Limitations
No test fee or service prices appear on the branch page, so you cannot compare costs before calling [1].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Our judgement: this branch suits you for tyres and servicing with reviews on two sources behind it, with an MOT price on the record through a directory [1][3][4]. We rate the review depth as a strength because it spans two sources. Confirm the MOT booking and retest terms by phone before you visit [4].
67.0 / 100
Strengths
You see two review sources for one branch: 4.8 from 361 Google reviews and 4.6 from 94 Blackcircles reviews [3][4].
The directory listing gives an MOT price of £44.95 and opening hours across six days [4].
Limitations
The branch's own page does not mention MOT testing, so that evidence comes from a third-party directory [1][4].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Our judgement: this garage suits you if you want testing, tyres and repairs in one Madeley visit with a quote route before you commit [1][3]. We rate the review score and the combined services as strengths because both are documented. Confirm the MOT fee and the retest terms before booking, as no prices are published [1].
66.2 / 100
Strengths
You see 4.7 from 403 Google reviews, seen 3 September 2026, with the site reporting over 260 five-star reviews [1][3].
MOT testing, tyres, servicing and repairs sit on one site with an online quote form and a published email address [1].
Limitations
The matching company record is only two years old and its registered office sits outside Telford, which the editor should confirm [2].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Our judgement: this centre suits you if an upfront MOT price and a free quote matter most, with Class 4 and 7 tests on offer [1]. We rate the published pricing as a strength because few rivals show theirs. Confirm the retest terms before booking, as the page does not state them [1].
66.0 / 100
Strengths
You see the MOT price upfront — £39.95 — set against named rival figures, with free quotes offered [1].
The centre advertises Class 4 and 7 MOTs, courtesy cars, finance options and Saturday opening [1].
Limitations
No company record matching this branch was found, so history and structure stay neutral [1].
No insurance details are published — scored as insufficient evidence, not as a failing [1].
Service area: Donnington, Hollinswood, Priorslee, Telford
Eligible and scored providers outside the published ranking.
Donnington Wood Mot Test Centre63.6 / 100Donnington Wood's MOT-only centre holds 4.9 from 320 Google reviews and says it only does MOTs [1][2]. No limited company was found, so it is recorded as unknown structure. Included for its rating and test-only model.
Researched, not assessed
We researched these providers but have not scored them, because each fell short of one of our eligibility requirements.
M & Y TyresRequirement not met: G3Site lists tyres, diagnostics, service and repairs with no MOT testing mentioned, so DVSA status is unconfirmed [1].
How we chose
We built the candidate list from Google Places listings around Telford, Companies House records and each centre's own website, then checked DVSA-authorised tester status [4] and claimed Motor Ombudsman accreditation [5]. Before we score anyone, we check that each business is who it says it is, is trading today and can actually be reached, and that any claimed accreditation checks out. We then score every eligible business against our scoring system, which looks at the things you care about when hiring: what customers say, the qualifications and registrations that matter for this trade, how the business responded when we contacted it, how long it has traded, insurance and safeguards, how clearly it prices, and how useful its website is. Anything we cannot verify stays neutral rather than counting against a business. The ranking carries its evidence date so you can see how fresh each check is.
How to hire
Book the test, not a service, and know what each covers. The MOT checks safety and emissions items set by DVSA [4]; it does not change oil, filters or spark plugs. Many centres sell a combined MOT-and-service — fine if you want both, but ask for the two prices separately so a failure cannot hide inside a service bill. Check your expiry first on the free MOT history service [1], and book up to a month minus a day early to keep your renewal date [3].
Prepare the car yourself the evening before: lights, indicators, wipers and washers, horn, tyre tread and pressures, mirrors, and a clear view through the windscreen. These simple items cause many avoidable failures, and ten minutes with a cloth and a pressure gauge avoids a wasted trip [3]. Take the logbook (V5C) if you have it, and empty the boot so the tester can reach everything.
At the centre, confirm the test fee before it starts — no station may charge more than the legal maximum [2] — and ask the retest policy in writing: what is free, what carries a partial fee, and within how many days. If it fails, the result grades each defect as dangerous, major, minor or advisory: ask to see each failed item, get the repair quote separately, and treat advisories as things to plan for rather than orders [3].
A centre that also repairs has a conflict to manage, not a reason to distrust: authorise the test alone first, then decide on repairs with the failure sheet in front of you. If you believe a failure was wrong, DVSA explains how to appeal — read that page before authorising any repair [4].
Pricing
The test fee is capped by law: £54.85 maximum for a car, with no VAT on the fee — though many Telford centres discount below it to win the work [2]. What varies is everything around the test: the retest policy, and the repair bill if it fails.
As of autumn 2026, rough Telford repair figures run: bulbs and wiper blades £10 to £25 fitted, a budget tyre £70 to £140 fitted depending on size, brake pads and discs per axle £150 to £300, exhaust sections £150 to £400 [6]. Repairs, unlike the test, carry VAT — confirm whether each figure includes it.
Get the failure sheet, the itemised repair estimate and the retest terms in one written record before you authorise anything. Never authorise an open-ended 'fix whatever it needs'.
Red flags
Charges more than the legal maximum for the test itself [2].
Will not state the retest policy and fee before the test.
Adds repairs to the bill that you never authorised.
Refuses to show you the failed parts or explain each defect on the failure sheet.
Presents one combined figure with no split between the test fee and the repair work.
Questions about mot centres
Test or service — which do I need?
Both, for different reasons. The MOT is the annual legal check that your car is roadworthy; a service replaces fluids and worn parts to keep it reliable [3]. A car needs its MOT by age three and yearly after, while servicing follows your handbook. If money is tight, never skip the MOT — driving without one risks a fine of up to £1,000 [3] — then book the service as soon as you can.
When should I book?
You can test up to a month minus a day before expiry and keep the same renewal date the next year [3]. Check the exact date on the free MOT history service first [1], then book a week or two ahead — Telford centres fill fast at month-ends. Sign up for the free reminder so the date cannot slip past you.
Can I drive after a fail?
If the MOT has run out, you can only drive to a pre-arranged repair or test — otherwise you risk prosecution [3]. A failure marked dangerous means do not drive it at all. Ask the centre to explain each defect on the failure sheet, then book the repair or recovery before using the car again.
What if I disagree with the failure?
Say so calmly at the desk and ask the tester to walk you through each defect on the failure sheet. If you remain unconvinced, DVSA publishes the appeal process — read it before authorising any repair, and keep the failure sheet, the estimate and every message [4].
Why do centres discount the test?
The £54.85 cap limits what any station can charge for the test, so competition moves to discounts, free retests and repair work [2]. A discounted test is not a worse test — the inspection follows the same DVSA standard everywhere [4]. Compare centres on retest policy, repair pricing and the complaints route behind them [5], not on test-fee pennies.