Land and estate agents in Telford at a glance

Every ranked land and estate agent in round land-agents-2026-09, with its score out of 100, public ratings and the industry qualifications we could source. Full evidence is on each assessment page.
Rankland and estate agentScoreRatingsQualificationsBest for
1 Belvoir 69.7 Google 4.8/5 (201) The Property Ombudsman, Propertymark, Client Money Protection Best overall: one branch for sales, lettings and mortgages with published charges
2 Coleman Estates 69.2 Google 4.8/5 (518) The Property Ombudsman, Safeagent, Client Money Protection Wellington sellers and landlords wanting one local office
3 DB Roberts 69.0 Google 4.9/5 (354) The Property Ombudsman, RICS, Client Money Protection (RICS), RICS Client Money Protection landlords wanting a dedicated management office
4 DB Roberts 69.0 Google 4.9/5 (401) The Property Ombudsman, RICS, Client Money Protection (RICS), RICS Client Money Protection sellers and landlords visiting Telford Shopping Centre
5 Newton Fallowell 68.6 Google 4.7/5 (147) The Property Ombudsman, Client Money Protection, Propertymark Wellington sellers and landlords wanting a franchise branch
6 Nock Deighton 68.2 Google 4.8/5 (526) The Property Ombudsman, ARLA Propertymark, NAEA Propertymark sellers and landlords across Telford and Shropshire
7 Foden Property 68.0 Google 4.6/5 (109) The Property Ombudsman, NAEA Propertymark, ARLA Propertymark, Client Money Protection Telford landlords wanting published letting fees
8 Barbers 67.9 Google 4.8/5 (145) The Property Ombudsman, NAEA Propertymark, ARLA Propertymark sellers across Shropshire wanting a four-office agent
9 Nick Tart 67.0 Google 4.9/5 (145) The Property Ombudsman, Propertymark Ironbridge and Telford sellers wanting a local office
10 Mannleys 66.2 Google 4.4/5 (170) The Property Ombudsman Wellington sellers and landlords wanting an independent agent

The ranking

Scored on the home trades rubric v2.0.

  1. 1rank

    Belvoir

    Best overall land and estate agent: one branch for sales, lettings and mortgages with published charges

    Our view is that Belvoir Telford suits sellers and landlords who want sales, lettings and mortgages from one branch with published tenant charges [1] [2]. The company record goes back to 2014 with the registered office at the branch [4]. Reviews stand at 4.8 from 201 Google reviews [5]. Insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    69.7 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: BELLA MERCIA LIMITED has been active since 27 March 2014 with its registered office at the branch address [4].

    • Tenant charges are published as a full permitted-payments scale, and landlord fees are linked from the branch page [1] [2].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the branch page points to its client money protection certificate and Propertymark claim route [1].

    Limitations

    • No insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Newport, Market Drayton, Shifnal

  2. 2rank

    Coleman Estates

    Best for: Wellington sellers and landlords wanting one local office

    Our view is that Coleman Estates suits sellers and landlords who want a single Wellington office with a company record going back to 1999 and published tenant-find fees [2] [4]. Review volume is 518 Google reviews at 4.8 [5]. The sales side publishes no fee scale, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    69.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: COLEMAN ESTATES LTD has been active since 11 May 1999 with its registered office at the Wellington branch address [4].

    • Tenant-find fees are published as a scale from £600 plus VAT by rent band, with a managed option at 12% plus VAT [2], and the site offers free sales and lettings valuations [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the site states Safeagent accreditation alongside Ombudsman membership [2].

    Limitations

    • No sales fee scale and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Stafford, Broseley, Albrighton

  3. 3rank

    DB Roberts

    Best for: landlords wanting a dedicated management office

    Our view is that DB Roberts Oakengates suits landlords who want a management specialist office backed by a company record going back to 2004 and register-listed redress [1] [4]. Reviews stand at 4.9 from 354 Google reviews [5]. No fee scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    69.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: D B ROBERTS & PARTNERS LIMITED has been active since 7 December 2004 as a real estate agency [4].

    • The Oakengates office is presented as the home of the lettings and property management department, with opening hours, the team and an area guide on the branch page [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the site sets out RICS client money protection with an Ombudsman complaints route [2].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale, rates or VAT position and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Oakengates, Shrewsbury, Wellington, Stafford, Wolverhampton

  4. 4rank

    DB Roberts

    Best for: sellers and landlords visiting Telford Shopping Centre

    Our view is that DB Roberts Telford suits sellers and landlords who want a Shopping Centre branch backed by a company record going back to 2004 and register-listed redress [3] [4]. Reviews stand at 4.9 from 401 Google reviews [5]. No fee scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    69.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: D B ROBERTS & PARTNERS LIMITED has been active since 7 December 2004 as a real estate agency [4].

    • The Telford branch sits in the Shopping Centre with valuation booking and the branch network covers sales, lettings, auctions, management, conveyancing and mortgages [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the site sets out RICS client money protection with an Ombudsman complaints route [2].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale, rates or VAT position and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Shrewsbury, Wellington, Oakengates, Stafford, Wolverhampton

  5. 5rank

    Newton Fallowell

    Best for: Wellington sellers and landlords wanting a franchise branch

    Our view is that Newton Fallowell Telford suits Wellington sellers and landlords who want a franchise branch with published tenant charges and a company record going back to 2010 [2] [4]. Reviews stand at 4.7 from 147 Google reviews [5]. The branch opened in 2011, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    68.6 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: LABOCHA & UPTON LTD has been active since 14 June 2010 with its registered office at the branch address [4].

    • Tenant charges are published as a scale with holding deposit and late-payment rules, and landlord fees are linked from the branch page [1] [2].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the tenant page states Propertymark client money protection alongside Ombudsman membership [2].

    Limitations

    • No insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Dawley, Madeley, Ironbridge

  6. 6rank

    Nock Deighton

    Best for: sellers and landlords across Telford and Shropshire

    Our view is that Nock Deighton suits sellers and landlords who want one agent across Telford and Shropshire, with a named land and new-homes arm and a company record going back to 2008 [1] [4]. Review volume is 526 Google reviews at 4.8 [5]. No fee scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1] [2].

    68.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: NOCK DEIGHTON (1831) LIMITED has been active since 9 May 2008 as a real estate agency [4].

    • Land sellers get a named route: the site carries a Land & New Homes arm with its own phone line alongside sales, lettings and auctions [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the site names ARLA and NAEA membership on its credentials page [2].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Newport, Wellington, Shrewsbury, Bridgnorth, Ironbridge

  7. 7rank

    Foden Property

    Best for: Telford landlords wanting published letting fees

    Our view is that Foden Property suits Telford landlords who want letting packages with VAT-inclusive fees on the page and register-listed redress [2] [4]. The company record goes back to 2013 [5]. Reviews stand at 4.6 from 109 Google reviews [6]. The homepage carries placeholder copy, and insurance cover is not stated [1].

    68.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: FODEN PROPERTY (LAWLEY) LIMITED has been active since 16 August 2013 [5].

    • Managed and let-only packages are published with VAT-inclusive set-up fees, a monthly rate and named extras [2].

    • Redress sits on the public register [4], and the site states NAEA and ARLA Propertymark membership with Propertymark client money protection [3].

    Limitations

    • The homepage still shows placeholder copy, which weakens the site's presentation [1].

    • No insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford

  8. 8rank

    Barbers

    Best for: sellers across Shropshire wanting a four-office agent

    Our view is that Barbers suits sellers across Shropshire who want a four-office agent trading since 1848 with register-listed redress [1] [2]. The limited company record goes back to 2007 [3]. Reviews stand at 4.8 from 145 Google reviews [4]. Rental adverts note fees without amounts, and insurance cover is not stated [1].

    67.9 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: A M ARTHAN LIMITED has been active since 21 May 2007 with its registered office at the Wellington branch [3].

    • The site presents over 175 years in residential property across four Shropshire offices with a property search and current sale and rental instructions [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [2], and the site states licensed NAEA and ARLA Propertymark membership [1].

    Limitations

    • No sales fee scale and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Newport, Market Drayton, Whitchurch

  9. 9rank

    Nick Tart

    Best for: Ironbridge and Telford sellers wanting a local office

    Our view is that Nick Tart suits Ironbridge and Telford sellers who want a local office with auction sales alongside private treaty and a company record going back to 2006 [1] [4]. Reviews stand at 4.9 from 145 Google reviews [5]. No sales fee scale is published, and insurance cover is not stated [1].

    67.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: NICK TART (WEST MIDLANDS) LIMITED has been active since 1 December 2006 as a real estate agency [4].

    • The branch page sets out sales by private treaty or auction with surveys, conveyancing and mortgages arranged alongside, and names the Ironbridge team [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register [3], and the group traces its first Ironbridge office to 1991 [2].

    Limitations

    • No sales fee scale and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1] [2].

    Service area: Ironbridge, Telford, Bridgnorth, Much Wenlock, Newport

  10. 10rank

    Mannleys

    Best for: Wellington sellers and landlords wanting an independent agent

    Our view is that Mannleys suits Wellington sellers and landlords who want an independent single-office agent with a company record going back to 2016 [1] [3]. Reviews stand at 4.4 from 170 Google reviews [4]. Fees are described as competitive with a free quotation but no amounts, and insurance cover is not stated [1].

    66.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can check the company behind the name: MANNLEYS LIMITED has been active since 13 October 2016 with its registered office at the branch address [3].

    • The site presents the firm as an independent Telford agent with a property search, current sale and rental listings and client reviews [1].

    • Redress sits on the public register, which confirms the branch address and company number [2].

    Limitations

    • No fee scale, rates or VAT position and no insurance details are published on the pages checked [1].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington

Also researched

Eligible and scored providers outside the published ranking.

  1. DB Roberts Wellington 65.9 / 100 DB Roberts is a Wellington sales and lettings branch at 30 Market Street, with D B ROBERTS & PARTNERS LIMITED active since 2004 [4]. The branch page traces the office to 1964 with a free valuation route and in-house mortgage advice [1]. The business is on the Property Ombudsman register [3].
  2. Your Move 66.0 / 100 Your Move is a Wellington sales and lettings branch at 56 Market Street, operating from the town for over 19 years with coverage from TF1 to TF11 [1]. The site offers buying, selling, lettings and financial services with valuation booking [1]. Ombudsman and ARLA membership are stated on the company about page [3].

How we chose

We started from the more than fifty land and estate agents Google Maps shows across Telford. Scheme memberships were sourced from the Property Ombudsman register, each firm's website and consumer platforms [4] [7] [8]. Each business must first meet our basic checks: it is who it says it is, it is trading today and can be reached, and its redress membership is on the register. Twelve firms met all three; ten make the table. What customers say counts most toward the score — the star rating itself, since beyond a small handful of reviews volume adds nothing — then proof of professional standing, then whether the firm has traded two years or more and whether its cover is stated, then pricing clarity and website detail. All evidence is dated early September 2026.

How to hire

Match the agent to the job first. A land and estate agent sells homes and land, values property and negotiates offers; a letting agent finds tenants, collects rent and manages the tenancy day to day, and many Telford branches do both from the same desk. Wellington, Oakengates and Ironbridge each have their own high-street offices, the Shopping Centre holds a town-centre branch, and Nock Deighton runs a named Land and New Homes arm for plots and new-build sellers. When you first enquire, say whether you are selling, letting or both, and where the property sits.

Check redress before you instruct. Every estate agent handling residential property and every letting agent or property manager in England must belong to an approved redress scheme, or face a fine of up to five thousand pounds [4]. The two approved schemes are The Property Ombudsman and the Property Redress Scheme [4]. Type the business name into the Ombudsman business search and check the name and address that come back match the branch you are hiring [7]. If the name is missing, ask why before you go further.

If you are letting, check client money protection next. Any letting or management agent in England that holds rent or deposits must belong to an approved client money protection scheme, which compensates landlords and tenants if the money cannot be repaid [5]. The agent must display its membership certificate in the office and on its website and provide a copy free to anyone who asks [5]. Propertymark's find-an-expert search shows certified agents across sales and lettings disciplines [8]. Ask for the certificate by name and read which scheme stands behind it.

Know who pays what since the tenant fees ban. From June 2019 almost all charges to tenants in England are banned, leaving only rent, capped tenancy and holding deposits and a short list of permitted payments, so the landlord now contracts and pays for the agent's service [6]. That makes the landlord fee schedule the document that matters: the service tier and monthly percentage, the set-up and inventory charges, any renewal fee and the notice period. Belvoir, Coleman Estates, Newton Fallowell and Foden Property all publish tenant or landlord figures on the page; where a branch publishes nothing, get the whole schedule with VAT in writing before you sign.

Get the sales quote in the same written form. It should name the commission percentage, say whether VAT goes on top, give the tie-in length and notice terms, and list what is included: photographs, floor plans, portal listings, board and accompanied viewings. Check whether the deal is no sale, no fee or whether money changes hands whatever happens, since online fixed-fee deals often take payment up front [1]. Get two or three quotes on the same written scope and treat an outlier, far above or below the rest, as a question rather than a bargain.

Finish with the paperwork filed, not promised. Sellers should hold the signed agency agreement and the energy performance certificate, which you must order before you market the property and which lasts ten years [10]. Landlords should hold the written tenancy agreement, the inventory and check-in report that records the starting condition, and the deposit paperwork for the tenancy [3] [6]. Photograph meter readings on moving day and keep every quote, invoice and certificate where you can find them at sale or re-let.

Pricing

As of summer 2026, selling through a high-street agent on a sole-agency deal typically costs 1% to 1.8% plus VAT, with Rightmove putting the 2025 average at around 1.3% including VAT [1]. The HomeOwners Alliance puts the 2026 average at 1.42% including VAT, with multi-agency deals running 2% to 3.6% [2]. Online agents offer fixed fees, often £500 to £1,500 and frequently payable up front whether the property sells or not [1].

Letting fees sit with the landlord since the tenant fees ban, and full management typically runs 8% to 12% of the monthly rent plus VAT, with around 10% the common benchmark [3]. Rent collection without day-to-day management runs roughly 5% to 8%, while let-only tenant-find is a one-off charge, often around a month's rent or a flat £400 to £1,500 [3]. Set-up, inventory and renewal fees sit outside the headline percentage and vary widely between branches [3].

Three things move the price most: the service tier you choose, the property itself, and what sits outside the headline rate. Homes needing hands-on management cost more than quiet lets, portfolio landlords can often negotiate the percentage down, and add-ons such as inventories, renewals and void cover stack several hundred pounds across a year that the headline rate does not show [3]. VAT is the quietest uplift of all: most agents quote exclusive of the 20% rate, so an advertised 10% really costs 12% of your rent [3].

Get the whole schedule in writing before you sign: every percentage and flat fee with VAT included, the tie-in and notice period, and exactly which services each tier covers. Most branches in this round publish no sales fee scale, so the written quote does the talking — compare two or three on the same scope and keep the winning schedule with the signed agreement.

Red flags

The business does not appear when you search its name on the approved redress scheme registers [4] [7].

A letting agent that handles rent or deposits shows no client money protection certificate on its website or in its office [5].

The sales quote names a commission without saying whether VAT goes on top or how long the tie-in lasts.

A letting agent asks you, as the tenant, for charges outside the short permitted-payments list [6].

The valuation arrives without a visit and without questions about condition, tenure or chain.

You are pressed to sign a long sole-agency tie-in on the first visit with no written terms to take away.

A new tenancy starts with no written agreement and no inventory or check-in report.

Questions about land and estate agents

How much does it cost to sell through a Telford agent?

Budget around 1% to 1.8% plus VAT on a sole-agency deal, against a national average near 1.3% including VAT, with multi-agency deals running 2% to 3.6% [1] [2]. The percentage is negotiable and the fee is usually due only on completion through your conveyancer [1]. Get two or three itemised quotes on the same written scope and compare what each branch includes before you sign.

What do letting agents charge landlords in Telford?

Full management typically runs 8% to 12% of the monthly rent plus VAT with 10% a common benchmark, rent collection roughly 5% to 8%, and tenant-find a one-off charge [3]. Set-up, inventory and renewal fees sit on top and vary widely, and most quotes exclude VAT, so an advertised 10% really costs 12% [3]. Ask for the whole schedule VAT-inclusive in writing and compare the all-in figure.

Should I choose sole agency or multi-agency?

Sole agency with one agent costs less, typically 1% to 1.8%, and suits most sellers with a straightforward home [1]. Multi-agency sets two or more agents competing and costs more, between 2.5% and 3.6%, with only the agent who sells earning the fee [1]. Consider it only for hard-to-sell homes or tight deadlines, and read the tie-in and notice terms of each agreement before you sign.

How is this ranking decided?

We looked at more than fifty Telford land and estate agents and scored the twelve that met our basic checks. What customers say counts most, then proof of professional standing, then trading history and cover, then pricing clarity and website detail. Firms are listed in score order with the strongest first.

How often is the ranking updated?

Each round carries its evidence date — this one is dated early September 2026 — so you can see how fresh every check is. We reassess the table as new evidence arrives and publish a new round when the picture changes. If you run one of the firms listed, use the Claim a listing link on the page to send updated detail for the next round.

How do I check an agent will answer if something goes wrong?

Every residential estate agent and every letting agent in England must belong to an approved redress scheme such as The Property Ombudsman [4]. Type the business name into the Ombudsman business search and check the name and address match your branch [7]. If the name is missing or the details differ, ask the agent why before you instruct anyone.

What is client money protection and why does it matter?

It is the scheme membership that compensates landlords and tenants if an agent holding rent or deposits cannot repay the money, and holding client money without it can bring a fine of up to £30,000 [5]. The agent must display its certificate in the office and online and provide a copy free on request [5]. Ask for the certificate by name and check which scheme stands behind it.

Can my letting agent charge me fees as a tenant?

Only from the short permitted list. Since June 2019 the payments landlords or agents in England can charge tenants are rent, capped tenancy and holding deposits and permitted items such as utilities and agreed defaults [6]. Referencing, inventory and admin charges to tenants are banned. If a branch asks you for anything else, query it against the permitted list before you pay.

Do I need an energy certificate before I market my home?

Yes. You must order an energy performance certificate before you market a property for sale or rent, and the seller, landlord or agent must show it to buyers or tenants [10]. The certificate rates the property from A to G and lasts ten years [10]. Ask your agent whether arranging it sits inside the quoted fee or comes as an extra.

What paperwork should I finish with?

Sellers should hold the signed agency agreement and the energy performance certificate for the sale [10]. Landlords should hold the written tenancy agreement, the inventory and check-in report and the deposit paperwork [3] [6]. Photograph the meters on moving day and file every quote, invoice and certificate where you can find them at sale or re-let.

The bottom line

For most Telford sellers and landlords, start with Belvoir: one Central Park branch for sales, lettings and mortgages, with tenant charges published and redress on the register. Its company record is there to check and the branch page links landlord fees, so you can compare its quote against others on paper rather than promises.

Match the pick to the job where you have a particular need: Foden Property for landlords who want letting packages priced on the page, Nock Deighton for land or new-build sellers who want a named specialist arm. Then get two or three written quotes on the same scope, check the redress register and the client money certificate yourself, and agree every fee with VAT before you sign.

Sources

  1. Rightmove — How much are estate agent fees and how do they work? Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  2. HomeOwners Alliance — Estate Agent Fees - And How You Can Save In 2026 Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  3. Landlord Resource — Letting Agent Fees Explained: What Landlords Pay in 2026 Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  4. GOV.UK — Registering with a redress scheme as a property agent Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  5. GOV.UK — Protecting clients' money if you're a property agent Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  6. GOV.UK — Tenant Fees Act Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  7. The Property Ombudsman — business search Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  8. Propertymark — Find an expert Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  9. Companies House — Search the register Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  10. GOV.UK — Selling a home: Energy Performance Certificates Retrieved 4 September 2026.

Corrections and business responses

Tell us what needs checking, or ask to claim a listing and reply to an assessment.