Self storage in Telford at a glance

Every ranked self storage provider in round self-storage-2026-09, with its score out of 100, public ratings and the industry qualifications we could source. Full evidence is on each assessment page.
Rankself storage providerScoreRatingsQualificationsBest for
1 Sutton Maddock Self Storage 70.4 Google 5.0/5 (36) Self Storage Association UK Best overall: family-run indoor rooms and containers near Shifnal
2 SureStore Telford 69.2 Google 4.4/5 (7); Trustpilot 4.8/5 (90) Self Storage Association UK staffed rooms and drive-up units at Overdale
3 UK Storage Telford 68.5 Google 4.4/5 (35); Trustpilot 4.6/5 (787) Self Storage Association UK graded units with app check-in at Hadley
4 Titan Self Storage Telford 65.4 Google 5.0/5 (80); Trustpilot 5.0/5 (805) Can't be sourced on-site team with alarmed units near Telford centre
5 Storage Giant Self Storage Telford 65.0 Google 4.9/5 (348); Trustpilot 4.9/5 (1126) Can't be sourced staffed superstore with round-the-clock unit access
6 Pink Self Storage Telford 63.6 Google 4.9/5 (90); Trustpilot 4.7/5 (2185) Can't be sourced unmanned drive-up units with instant online booking
7 Anytime Self Storage Telford 62.1 Google 5.0/5 (47) Can't be sourced drive-up containers with 24/7 PIN-gated access
8 Moseley Storage Solutions 61.4 Google 5.0/5 (10) Can't be sourced farm-based container storage with online booking
9 M54 Space Centre Telford 57.5 Google 4.4/5 (30) Can't be sourced container storage on a staffed business park
10 Pryce's Self Storage 57.1 Google 4.5/5 (6) Can't be sourced single-price container hire in a Wellington yard

The ranking

Scored on the home trades rubric v2.0.

  1. 1rank

    Sutton Maddock Self Storage

    Best overall self storage provider: family-run indoor rooms and containers near Shifnal

    Our view: Sutton Maddock suits you if you want a family-run local operator with indoor and container options plus van hire in one place [1]. Ratings are 5.0 from 36 Google reviews [7]. Against it: no published prices, and the company footprint sits under the vehicle-hire business rather than a storage company [1] [5].

    70.4 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get a choice of indoor units from 16 to 200 sq ft or drive-up 20ft containers across two Telford-area sites, with van hire and packaging on hand [1].

    • SSA UK membership is stated in the business's own article of 4 March 2022, which describes admission after inspection [2].

    • A bespoke customer-goods policy is offered against fire, flood, forced-entry theft and other named risks [3].

    Limitations

    • No per-unit prices are published; quotes sit behind the booking flow [1].

    • No separate limited company for the storage business was found; the linked company is the vehicle-rental operator [5].

    Service area: Telford, Sutton Maddock, Shifnal, Bridgnorth, Broseley, Much Wenlock, Albrighton, Madeley, Lightmoor, Stirchley

  2. 2rank

    SureStore Telford

    Best for: staffed rooms and drive-up units at Overdale

    Our view: SureStore suits you if you want a staffed Overdale store with rooms and drive-up units plus an app for managing the account [1] [2]. The company record starts in 2015 and the group carries SSA UK awards [6] [5]. Against it: the Telford review set is small and no prices are published [9] [1].

    69.2 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get a staffed facility with reception hours, a size guide from 10 sq ft lockers to rooms over 200 sq ft, a box shop and a customer app with online quote and booking [1] [2].

    • The company record is checkable: SURESTORE STORAGE LIMITED has been active since 19 January 2015 [6].

    • The operator group states its sites won SSA UK Multi Site Operator of the Year in two consecutive years [5].

    Limitations

    • The Telford Google set is small at 4.4 from 7 reviews [9].

    • No per-unit prices, VAT position or liability amounts are published; prices sit behind the quote tool [1] [4].

    Service area: Telford, Wellington, Madeley, Ironbridge, Newport, Shrewsbury, Bridgnorth, Shifnal

  3. 3rank

    UK Storage Telford

    Best for: graded units with app check-in at Hadley

    Our view: UK Storage suits you if you want a long-established operator with graded units and app-based check-in at Hadley [1] [4]. The Google rating of 4.4 from 35 reviews sits below most firms in this round [7]. Against it: the store is unstaffed, and round-the-clock access costs extra [1].

    68.5 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get graded Prime and Standard units with keycode and smart entry, a goods lift, trolleys and online check-in through the firm's app, per the Telford page seen 4 September 2026 [1].

    • Pricing terms are detailed: 50% off up to 13 weeks for online booking, a £10 refundable reservation fee and VAT-inclusive monthly billing are all stated [1].

    • The company record is long: UK STORAGE COMPANY (SW) LIMITED has been active since 16 December 2004, and the about page says trading began in June 2005 [2] [4].

    Limitations

    • The Telford store is unstaffed and managed centrally from Bridgwater, with extended and 24-hour access carrying extra charges [1].

    Service area: Telford, Hadley, Hortonwood, Newport, Much Wenlock, Broseley

  4. 4rank

    Titan Self Storage Telford

    Best for: on-site team with alarmed units near Telford centre

    Our view: Titan suits you if you want a staffed Telford store close to the town centre with alarmed units and delivery acceptance [1]. Ratings are 5.0 on both sources checked, though most reviews sit on the brand page rather than the Telford listing [6] [8]. Against it: no published price list and no SSA UK listing on the pages checked [1] [7].

    65.4 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get an on-site team with in-store visits, a loading bay, lifts and trolleys, plus individually alarmed units behind PIN and two-factor entry, per the Telford page seen 4 September 2026 [1].

    • The company record is checkable: TITAN STORAGE LTD has been active since 12 October 2017 [5].

    • Ratings read 5.0 from 80 Google reviews and 5.0 from 805 Trustpilot reviews [6] [8].

    Limitations

    • No per-unit price list or VAT position is published; prices sit behind the quote tool [1].

    • SSA UK membership is not stated and the register pages checked list no entry for the business [7].

    Service area: Telford, Shrewsbury, Stafford, Cannock, Wolverhampton, Bridgnorth, Wombourne, Newport

  5. 5rank

    Storage Giant Self Storage Telford

    Best for: staffed superstore with round-the-clock unit access

    Our view: Storage Giant suits you if you want a large staffed Telford store with round-the-clock access and a company record going back to 2003 [1] [3]. Review volumes are the deepest in this round [4]. The gaps are paperwork: no price list, no VAT position and no liability amounts on the pages checked [1] [2].

    65.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get a staffed Telford superstore of over 48,000 sq ft with named local staff, in-person tours and 24/7 unit access backed by CCTV monitoring, all set out on the Telford page seen 4 September 2026 [1].

    • The company record is long and checkable: STORAGE GIANT LIMITED has been active since 12 September 2003 [3].

    • Customer evidence is broad: 4.9 from 348 Google reviews alongside 4.9 from 1,126 Trustpilot reviews [4] [6].

    Limitations

    • No per-unit price list or VAT position is published; prices sit behind the instant-quote tool [1].

    • No public-liability or employer-liability amounts are published [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Stafford, Shrewsbury, Oswestry, Much Wenlock, Bridgnorth, Broseley

  6. 6rank

    Pink Self Storage Telford

    Best for: unmanned drive-up units with instant online booking

    Our view: Pink suits you if you want to book a drive-up Telford unit online and move in the same day without visiting a counter [1]. The site runs without on-site staff, which keeps booking fast but leaves no counter to visit [2]. Review volumes are wide [5]. Against it: the SSA UK non-membership notice and no published price list [6] [1].

    63.6 / 100

    Strengths

    • You can book online in under a minute and get a texted PIN for instant access to a drive-up 160 sq ft unit, with ANPR gates and 24-hour monitoring described on the Telford page seen 4 September 2026 [1].

    • The company record is checkable: PINK SELF STORAGE LIMITED has been active since 10 February 2016, matching the site's account of growth since 2016 [2] [4].

    • Customer evidence is wide: 4.7 from 2,185 Trustpilot reviews alongside 4.9 from 90 Google reviews [5] [7].

    Limitations

    • SSA UK states Pink Self Storage Limited is not a member, in its notice of 9 March 2026 [6].

    • No per-unit price list or VAT position is published [1].

    Service area: Telford, Ironbridge

  7. 7rank

    Anytime Self Storage Telford

    Best for: drive-up containers with 24/7 PIN-gated access

    Our view: Anytime suits you if you want a new drive-up container site in St George's with round-the-clock access and clearly stated fees [1] [2]. Ratings are 5.0 from 47 Google reviews [5]. Against it: you arrange your own goods insurance, and the company record starts in 2023 [2] [3].

    62.1 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get 24/7 drive-up access through PIN-coded gates with monitored CCTV and perimeter fencing, plus same-day move-in, per the homepage seen 4 September 2026 [1].

    • Pricing is unusually open: headline weekly rates with an ex-VAT and inc-VAT toggle, plus callout, padlock and cleaning fees set out in the terms [1] [2].

    • The company record is checkable: ANYTIME STORAGE LTD has been active since 11 August 2023 [3].

    Limitations

    • The operator states no liability or indemnity cover of its own; goods are stored at the customer's sole risk and the customer must arrange insurance [2].

    • SSA UK membership is not stated and the register pages checked list no entry for the business [4].

    Service area: Telford, Oakengates, St George's, Wellington, Donnington, Priorslee, Hadley, Shifnal, Newport, Ironbridge, Hortonwood, Stafford Park

  8. 8rank

    Moseley Storage Solutions

    Best for: farm-based container storage with online booking

    Our view: Moseley suits you if you want a small farm-based container site with online booking and a 5.0 Google rating from 10 reviews [1] [4]. The company record starts in 2023 and the site shows no phone number or prices, so the Places phone number does the contact work [2] [1].

    61.4 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get vented 20ft containers for business and domestic use with online booking and payment, plus viewings by arrangement at the Eyton Park Farm compound [1].

    • The company record is checkable: MOSELEY STORAGE SOLUTIONS LIMITED has been active since 17 March 2023 [2].

    • Ratings read 5.0 from 10 Google reviews [4].

    Limitations

    • No phone number, email address, prices, VAT position or insurance details appear on the site; the phone number comes from the Places listing [1].

    • SSA UK membership is not stated and the register pages checked list no entry for the business [3].

    Service area: Telford

  9. 9rank

    M54 Space Centre Telford

    Best for: container storage on a staffed business park

    Our view: M54 suits you if you want container storage on a staffed Halesfield business park with round-the-clock access [1] [2]. The Google rating of 4.4 from 30 reviews sits below most firms in this round [6]. Against it: no published prices and no insurance details on the pages checked [2].

    57.5 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get 10ft, 20ft and 40ft containers plus industrial units and serviced offices on one Halesfield site, with 24/7 access including bank holidays [2] [3].

    • The site is staffed, with an on-site maintenance team and 24/7 manned security and CCTV, alongside meeting rooms and parcel handling [1].

    • The company record is checkable: M54 SPACE CENTRE LTD has been active since 16 January 2013 [4].

    Limitations

    • No unit prices, VAT position or insurance details are published [2].

    • SSA UK membership is not stated and the register pages checked list no entry for the business [5].

    Service area: Telford, Shropshire, West Midlands

  10. 10rank

    Pryce's Self Storage

    Best for: single-price container hire in a Wellington yard

    Our view: Pryce's suits you if you want one container at one stated monthly price in a Wellington yard run by a long-standing family firm [1] [5]. The Google rating is 4.5 from 6 reviews [6]. Against it: nothing is bookable today, there is no phone number, and no insurance details are stated [1] [4].

    57.1 / 100

    Strengths

    • You get a single stated price of £155 a month including VAT for a 20ft container, with 24/7 access inside a gated yard [1].

    • The company record is the longest in this round: H. W. PRYCE AND SON LIMITED active since 25 July 1978, with the site tracing the family firm to 1965 [2] [5].

    Limitations

    • The site shows no availability today, only an email-notify waitlist, and publishes no phone number or email address [1] [4].

    • No insurance details are stated, and no SSA UK listing was found on the register pages checked [1] [7].

    Service area: Wellington, Telford, Oakengates, Madeley, Dawley, Ironbridge, Shrewsbury, Newport, Bridgnorth, Market Drayton, Much Wenlock, Albrighton

Also researched

Eligible and scored providers outside the published ranking.

  1. Telford Self Storage 49.8 / 100 Telford Self Storage runs a container yard at Hortonwood 8, Telford, with varnished plywood floors, lock boxes, floodlit 24-hour CCTV and electromagnetic gate locks described on its single-page site [1]. It holds 4.0 from 8 Google reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [3].

How we chose

We started from the fourteen storage firms Google Maps shows across Telford. Association membership was sourced from the SSA UK site directory, each firm's own site and the association's membership pages [1] [2]. Each business must first meet our basic checks: it is who it says it is, it is trading today and can be reached, and anything it must hold by law is in place. Eleven firms met all three. What customers say counts most toward the score, since beyond a small handful of reviews volume adds nothing, then scheme membership, then whether the firm has traded two years or more and whether its cover is stated, then pricing clarity and website detail. All evidence is dated early September 2026.

How to hire

Match the store to the job first. An indoor room with a lift, trolleys and alarmed entry suits a house move or business stock you will visit often, and Telford has staffed indoor stores at Overdale, Stafford Park and near the town centre. A drive-up container suits bulky kit, tools and traders who load straight from a van, with yards at St George's, Halesfield, Wellington and Eyton Park Farm. List what you are storing, how often you will visit and what you will carry it in, then shortlist the store type that fits.

Check the one scheme that matters. The Self Storage Association UK is the principal trade association, and full members must meet its Membership Standard covering premises, security, contracts, consumer protection and customer insurance [1] [2]. Membership is voluntary and there is no mandatory registration for self storage, so treat it as a plus rather than a licence. Type the business name into the association's site directory to see who is listed [1].

Visit the unit before you sign. Look inside the actual room or container for damp marks, daylight around the door seals and working lights, and walk the route your van will take to the door. Ask who is on site and when, how entry works out of hours, and what the cameras and alarms cover. A store that rushes you past the viewing will rush you past the small print too.

Get the quote itemised. It must show the unit size, the monthly rate, whether VAT is included, the billing date, and every fee: reservation, administration, callout, padlock and cleaning. It must show the deposit and its return terms, the notice period, the access hours and any surcharge for extended hours, plus the monthly cost of goods cover and what it excludes. Compare two quotes on the same unit size before you agree anything.

Sort the insurance question early. Most Telford stores leave your goods to you or sell an enhanced-liability option with monthly fees and named risks, and one states plainly that goods rest at the customer's sole risk. Your home contents policy may not extend to a storage room, so check its wording alongside the store's schedule. Ask for the insurance schedule and confirm the sum insured covers the replacement value of what you will store [2].

Close the paperwork properly. Leave with a signed storage agreement, an inventory with dated photos, the keys or codes with a receipt, and the insurance schedule. At move-out, give notice as the agreement requires, sweep the unit clean to avoid a cleaning fee, and get the final invoice and deposit return confirmed. If goods go missing or a deposit is withheld unfairly, Citizens Advice sets out your next steps as a consumer [4].

Pricing

As of autumn 2026, the industry's own figures put average UK revenue near £27.40 per square foot per year before VAT [3]. That works out near sixty pounds a month before VAT for a twenty-five-square-foot room and near double for fifty. Against that, one Telford yard states a single figure of £155 a month including VAT for a twenty-foot container, which shows how a simple container yard can undercut a staffed superstore on headline price.

Expect an introductory discount rather than a flat rate. One Hadley store offers half price for up to thirteen weeks on online bookings with a ten-pound refundable reservation fee, and weekly-rate boards elsewhere reset once the offer ends. Always ask for the ongoing monthly rate after the offer, the billing date, and whether the reservation fee comes back on its own or only on request.

What moves the price is the mix you choose. Indoor rooms with lifts, smart entry and app check-in sit above basic yard containers, and round-the-clock access can carry a surcharge where daytime entry is standard. Ask how the rate changes if you size up or down, since splitting across two small rooms can cost more than one larger room. Staffing matters too, so decide what a counter with people behind it is worth to you.

Get the whole figure in writing before you sign: the monthly total with VAT, the billing date, each fee, the deposit and its return terms, the notice period and the price-rise clause. Keep the agreement, every invoice and the insurance schedule together. If the first bill differs from the quote, query it at once; Citizens Advice explains how to challenge an unfair charge [4].

Red flags

Quotes a monthly figure without saying whether VAT is included.

Will not show you the actual unit you will rent before you sign.

Offers a handshake and a padlock with no written agreement behind them.

Advertises round-the-clock access, then adds a surcharge for evening entry at the counter.

Takes cash with no receipt and no written terms [4].

Gives no straight answer on who pays if the roof leaks or the entry barrier fails.

Holds a deposit with no written return terms and no inspection at move-out.

Questions about self storage

Should I choose an indoor room or a drive-up container?

An indoor room with a lift, trolleys and alarmed entry suits a house move or business stock you will visit often, and Telford has staffed indoor stores at Overdale, Stafford Park and near the town centre. A drive-up container suits bulky kit, tools and traders loading straight from a van. List what you are storing and how often you will visit, then view one of each before you decide.

How much space do I need?

List your largest items first, then the boxes around them: a twenty-five-square-foot room swallows the contents of a studio flat, while a family house needs several times that or a twenty-foot container. If you sit between sizes, take the larger one; a room you cannot shut is money wasted. Ask the store for its size guide and walk a similar unit before you agree anything.

Is SSA UK membership a legal requirement?

No. Membership of the Self Storage Association UK is voluntary; there is no mandatory registration for self storage. Full members must meet the association's Membership Standard covering premises, security, contracts, consumer protection and customer insurance [2]. In this round two Telford firms state membership on their own sites. Search the association's site directory by town before you shortlist [1].

Do I need insurance for my goods in storage?

In most cases, yes. Telford stores either sell an enhanced-liability option with monthly fees and named risks or leave your goods to you entirely, and one states plainly that goods rest at the customer's sole risk. Your home contents policy may not extend to a storage room, so check its wording alongside the store's schedule. Ask for the insurance schedule and confirm the sum insured before you sign [2].

What must a storage quote show?

It must show the unit size, the monthly rate, whether VAT is included, the billing date, and every fee: reservation, administration, callout, padlock and cleaning. It must show the deposit and its return terms, the notice period, the access hours with any surcharge for extended hours, and the monthly cost of goods cover with its exclusions. Get two quotes on the same unit size and compare them line by line.

Can I reach my unit at any hour?

It depends on the store. Some Telford sites open round the clock every day of the year, one keeps set daytime hours with a surcharge for access outside them, and container yards vary by barrier code and staffing. Extended hours, bank-holiday entry and parcel acceptance all differ too. Read the access clause in your agreement and test the entry method on viewing day.

Why does the price rise after the first few months?

Many stores open with an introductory discount, such as half price for the first weeks on online bookings, then bill at the full ongoing rate. The quote you compare should be the rate after the offer, with the billing date and the price-rise clause beside it. Ask what a twelve-month stay costs in total, not just the first month. Get the answer added to the agreement.

How is this ranking decided?

Every rank comes from the scorecard alone. What customers say counts most toward each score, since beyond a small handful of reviews volume adds nothing, then scheme membership, then whether the firm has traded two years or more and whether its cover is stated, then pricing clarity and website detail. All evidence for this round is dated early September 2026. Read any firm's card to see the evidence behind its place.

How often is the ranking updated?

The table stands until the evidence changes. We reassess the round as new reviews, prices and company records arrive and publish a fresh ranking when the picture moves. If you run one of the firms listed, use the Claim a listing route on the page to send updated detail for the next round. Readers can check the published date at the top of the page.

The bottom line

For most people, start with Sutton Maddock: indoor and container choice on one local account, association membership on record and goods cover available. Prices sit behind its booking flow, so ask for the monthly total with VAT and the notice terms before you commit.

Match the store to the job from there: Storage Giant or Titan for a staffed superstore, Pink for instant online booking, Pryce's for one container at one stated price. Shortlist two, visit both units, and compare the agreements line by line on access, cover and notice before you sign. Take photos of the unit on move-in day and keep the agreement with the inventory.

Sources

  1. SSA UK — the principal trade association and member directory Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  2. SSA UK — Membership Standard for operators Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  3. Cushman & Wakefield — UK Self Storage Annual Report (rentals and operations) Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  4. Citizens Advice — consumer help with purchases and services Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  5. Companies House — search the company register Retrieved 4 September 2026.

Corrections and business responses

Tell us what needs checking, or ask to claim a listing and reply to an assessment.