Pet sitters in Telford at a glance

Every ranked pet sitter in round pet-sitters-2026-09, with its score out of 100, public ratings and the industry qualifications we could source. Full evidence is on each assessment page.
Rankpet sitterScoreRatingsQualificationsBest for
1 AnimaLia Pet Services 74.9 Google 5.0/5 (26) DEFRA animal transporter authorisation, DBS checks, Pet first aid training, DBS check, IMDT certified dog walker, iPET Network Level 3 Award in Canine Emergency First Aid Best overall: priced group and solo walks with trained cover
2 Newport Pet Services 71.0 Google 4.9/5 (31) DBS checks, Canine first aid training, DBS check Newport walks and visits, GPS-tracked
3 Kerrina's Canine Care 69.7 Google 4.6/5 (16) Telford and Wrekin home-boarding licence, AIM Level 2 Canine Care and Behaviour, Ofqual Level 3 Professional Day Care and Boarding, Canine first aid, DBS checks, Telford & Wrekin Council animal activity licence, DBS check licensed home boarding with 24-hour care
4 Haydens Home Dog Boarding 66.1 Google 5.0/5 (13) Telford and Wrekin home-boarding licence, Ofqual Level 3 Canine Care, Behaviour and Welfare, Canine first aid, Telford & Wrekin Council animal activity licence home boarding with its own sleep areas
5 Walks and Waggy Tails 64.9 Google 5.0/5 (22) CRB certificate, CRB check home sitting plus walks in Telford
6 Blossom's Pet Services 63.6 Google 5.0/5 (38) DBS check behaviour-aware care around Tibberton and Newport
7 Cottage Boarding Kennels and Cattery 62.3 Google 4.5/5 (113) Telford & Wrekin Council animal activity licence kennels and cattery stays outside Telford
8 Adams Dog Walking 61.6 Google 5.0/5 (15) Can't be sourced family-run walks with WhatsApp updates
9 Telford Home From Home Dog Boarding 60.1 Google 5.0/5 (13) Telford and Wrekin home-boarding licence home boarding in a family setting
10 The Cat's Pyjamas - Telford 56.4 Google 5.0/5 (37) Can't be sourced cat sitting around Ironbridge and Telford

The ranking

Scored on the home trades rubric v2.0.

  1. 1rank

    AnimaLia Pet Services

    Best overall pet sitter: priced group and solo walks with trained cover

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want priced, small-group walking with trained cover behind it, from an operator established in 2017 [2] [5]. The 26 Google ratings all stand at 5.0 [6]. Insurance and first-aid cover are stated on directory profiles rather than the site [4] [5].

    74.9 / 100

    Strengths

    • The site publishes solo and group walk rates from £12.50 to £20 with mileage and bank-holiday terms, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • A directory profile says the walker is IMDT-certified with an iPET Level 3 first-aid award, DBS-checked and fully insured [4] [5].

    • Google shows 5.0 out of 5 from 26 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [6].

    Limitations

    • No company record or trading-years statement was found on the business site itself [1].

    Service area: Telford

  2. 2rank

    Newport Pet Services

    Best for: Newport walks and visits, GPS-tracked

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want a Newport walker with tracked solo walks and trained, checked staff behind the name [1]. The review record sits at 4.9 across 31 Google ratings [2]. The gaps are prices and a dated trading history, neither of which the site gives [1].

    71.0 / 100

    Strengths

    • Google shows 4.9 out of 5 from 31 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • The homepage says every walk is GPS-tracked and only one client's dogs go out at a time [1].

    • The same page says all staff are DBS-checked and trained in canine first aid, with full insurance stated [1].

    Limitations

    • No prices are published, so the cost of walks or visits is not on the record [1].

    • Trading history is not dated anywhere found [1].

    Service area: Newport

  3. 3rank

    Kerrina's Canine Care

    Best for: licensed home boarding with 24-hour care

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want licensed home boarding where the licence number, qualifications and insurance sit on one page [1]. The review record reads 4.6 across 16 Google ratings [2]. Prices and trading history are the gaps [1].

    69.7 / 100

    Strengths

    • The site states a 5-star Telford and Wrekin rating under the animal boarding regulations with licence number BTWAWL022 [1].

    • The same page lists canine care and behaviour qualifications, first-aid certification, insurance and DBS checks [1].

    • Walking runs five days a week alongside boarding and day care [1].

    Limitations

    • Google shows 4.6 out of 5 from 16 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • No prices or trading history are published [1].

    Service area: Telford

  4. 4rank

    Haydens Home Dog Boarding

    Best for: home boarding with its own sleep areas

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want home boarding from a couple who put the licence number and care credentials on the page [1]. All 13 Google ratings stand at 5.0 [2]. Prices, insurance and trading history are the gaps [1].

    66.1 / 100

    Strengths

    • The site states licence BTWAWL070 with an Ofqual Level 3 award in canine care and a first-aid certificate [1].

    • The same page describes a detached house with separate sleep areas per dog and a fenced garden [1].

    • Google shows 5.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    Limitations

    • No prices or insurance details are published [1].

    • Trading history is not dated anywhere found [1].

    Service area: Telford

  5. 5rank

    Walks and Waggy Tails

    Best for: home sitting plus walks in Telford

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want one Telford hand for walks, home sitting and pet transport with insurance stated [1]. All 22 Google ratings stand at 5.0 [2]. The gaps are a working website, prices and trading history [1].

    64.9 / 100

    Strengths

    • Google shows 5.0 out of 5 from 22 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • The directory profile lists walking, home sitting, small-animal visits, training and a caged, ventilated pet vehicle [1].

    • The same profile says the business is fully insured, holds a CRB certificate and works seven days a week [1].

    Limitations

    • The business website would not load, so services rest on directory listings [1].

    • No prices or trading history are published [1].

    Service area: Telford

  6. 6rank

    Blossom's Pet Services

    Best for: behaviour-aware care around Tibberton and Newport

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want a Tibberton sitter whose team brings veterinary nursing and behaviour study to everyday care [1]. All 38 Google ratings stand at 5.0 out of 5, seen 4 September 2026 [3]. The gaps are a website, prices and trading history, none of which is published [1] [2].

    63.6 / 100

    Strengths

    • The business holds 5.0 out of 5 from 38 Google reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [3].

    • The profile describes a team including a registered veterinary nurse and animal behaviourists, offering behaviour-aware care around Tibberton [1].

    • The same profile says the business is fully insured and DBS-checked [1].

    Limitations

    • There is no website and no published prices, so services and costs rest on the Facebook page alone [1] [2].

    • Trading history is not stated anywhere found [1].

    Service area: Tibberton, Newport

  7. 7rank

    Cottage Boarding Kennels and Cattery

    Best for: kennels and cattery stays outside Telford

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want kennels or a cattery with long history and room to exercise, backed by 113 Google reviews at 4.5 out of 5 [2] [3]. The gaps are prices and insurance paperwork, neither of which is stated on the site [1] [2].

    62.3 / 100

    Strengths

    • Boarding since 2000 is stated on the services page, which describes indoor and outdoor dog pens, heated cat chalets and four exercise paddocks across 10 acres, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • The services page states a local authority licence with proof of vaccination required before entry, and owners on site around the clock [2].

    • Google shows 4.5 out of 5 from 113 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [3].

    Limitations

    • The site publishes no prices, so the cost of a stay is not on the record [1] [2].

    • No insurance details are published [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford, Shropshire

  8. 8rank

    Adams Dog Walking

    Best for: family-run walks with WhatsApp updates

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want a family-run Telford walker with insured cover and updates while you are out [1]. All 15 Google ratings stand at 5.0 [2]. Rates and background detail are thin on the site [1].

    61.6 / 100

    Strengths

    • Google shows 5.0 out of 5 from 15 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • The site says the service is fully insured with a free consultation and matched walkers for each dog [1].

    • Walks run 30 minutes to an hour with in-home sitting and day care offered [1].

    Limitations

    • No rates are published, so costs rest on the free consultation [1].

    • No qualifications or trading history are stated [1].

    Service area: Telford

  9. 9rank

    Telford Home From Home Dog Boarding

    Best for: home boarding in a family setting

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want home boarding found through Facebook with a 13-review record at full marks [1] [2]. Everything beyond the reviews sits off the public record. The Places listing gives phone 07837 228482 [2].

    60.1 / 100

    Strengths

    • Google shows 5.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2].

    • The Facebook page carries the trading name with a message route, and the Places listing gives a phone contact [1] [2].

    Limitations

    • No website, prices, insurance details, qualifications or trading history could be sourced [1] [2].

    Service area: Telford

  10. 10rank

    The Cat's Pyjamas - Telford

    Best for: cat sitting around Ironbridge and Telford

    Our verdict: this suits you if you want a cat sitter near Ironbridge with a 37-review record at full marks [3]. Little else is on the public record: qualifications, insurance and prices are all absent from the pages checked [1] [2].

    56.4 / 100

    Strengths

    • The business holds 5.0 out of 5 from 37 Google reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [3].

    • The website and Facebook page both carry the trading name, and the Places listing gives a phone contact [1] [2] [3].

    Limitations

    • No qualifications, insurance details or prices could be sourced from the pages checked [1] [2].

    • Trading history is not stated anywhere found.

    Service area: Telford

Also researched

Eligible and scored providers outside the published ranking.

  1. Barklife Petcare 41.0 / 100 Barklife Petcare LTD is a Telford pet sitting business holding 2.5 from 8 Google reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2]. A Bark profile lists solo and buddy walks, home sitting and pop-ins [1]. No website could be loaded.
  2. Elena's Happy Paws 56.1 / 100 Elena's Happy Paws is a Telford dog walking and pet care service holding 5.0 from 5 Google reviews, seen 4 September 2026 [2]. The owner's site carries breed notes and a contact page [1]. The Places listing gives phone 07765 361438 [2].

How we chose

We began with twenty-two candidates found through map listings, directories and business websites, and scored those that met our basic checks: each business is who it says it is, is trading today and can be reached, and holds anything the law requires for its services. Twelve met all three and the ten highest scores make the table. What customers say counts most toward the score — the star rating itself, since beyond a small handful of reviews volume adds nothing — then qualifications, then whether the firm has traded for two years or more and whether its cover is stated, then pricing clarity and website detail. Boarding licences sit with the council rather than any single trade register [1]. All evidence is dated early September 2026.

How to hire

Match the service to the animal first. A walker covers midday walks while you work; drop-in visits suit cats and small pets that do best at home; home boarding suits dogs that pine in kennels; and kennels or a cattery suit longer stays and multi-pet houses. Day care sits between walking and boarding for long days out. Say which animal, what dates and what your pet is like with strangers and other dogs in your first message.

Boarding needs a licence, walking does not. Anyone boarding cats or dogs — in kennels, in their own home, or running day care — must hold an animal activity licence from Telford and Wrekin Council under national licensing rules, with a star rating of one to five [1] [2]. Ask for the licence number and the star rating, then confirm both with the council's licensing team before you book [1]. A home boarder who cannot give you a number is one to walk away from.

Keys change everything, so check the person holding them. Pet sitters are usually self-employed, which means they request their own criminal-record check and show you the certificate — ask to see it and check its date, since a check never expires on paper but only covers the day it ran [3]. Ask for the public liability insurance certificate and the insurer's name, plus any first-aid training, in the same message [4]. NarpsUK runs a voluntary register of sitters and walkers with a postcode search, and asks its members to hold insurance and a current criminal-record check — a membership is a useful extra, not a legal badge [4].

If a pet taxi is part of the deal, check the van too. Anyone carrying animals over longer distances as part of paid work needs a transporter authorisation, with two tiers for shorter and longer journeys, and must carry a copy to show on request [5]. Ask which tier the driver holds and to see the paper before your pet travels [5]. For ordinary walks and visits around Telford this does not apply, but a sitter driving dogs to distant fields should still be able to describe how each dog travels secured.

Get two or three quotes in writing on the same scope so you compare like with like. Each quote should name the dates and times, whether walks are solo or group and how many dogs go out together, how many animals are covered, mileage charges, extras such as medication or a second visit, bank-holiday terms, and the total. One Telford walker publishes all of this on its site; most firms here publish none of it, which makes the written quote your only protection.

Meet before you book, then file the paperwork. A first meeting at your home shows you how the sitter handles your pet and lets them note feed times, vet details, emergency contacts and behaviour quirks — expect a booking form covering all of it [4]. Kennels will want vaccination proof before entry, so have the certificate ready. At the end you should hold the quote, the booking terms or service contract, the sitter's licence number where one applies, and the invoice — keep them with your pet's records where you can find them for the next trip.

Pricing

As of autumn 2026, the only published Telford figures in this round are AnimaLia's: solo walks from twelve pounds fifty for half an hour to seventeen pounds fifty for the hour, group walks at twelve pounds fifty to fifteen pounds, field play sessions at twenty pounds, five pounds per extra dog from the same house, a two pounds fifty mileage charge beyond five miles, and a ten-pound first meeting discounted off the first invoice. These come from the firm's own site, checked this September [6].

No other firm in the table publishes rates, so home boarding, day care, drop-in visits and house sitting are all quote-only across the rest of Telford. Treat any figure quoted on a social page as a starting question rather than a price, and always ask what exactly it covers before you compare it with another.

What moves the price is mostly time and attention: solo walks cost more than group ones, longer walks more than short ones, and extra dogs, mileage, medication and bank-holiday cover all add on. Overnight and multi-day care should spell out what each twenty-four hours includes — feeds, walks, medication — so two quotes for the same dates can be compared fairly.

Ask whether VAT is included, since small sitters usually sit below the ninety-thousand-pound registration threshold and quote without it [7]. Then get the whole scope in writing before you hand over keys or pay a deposit: dates, services, extras, the total, and what happens if you cancel or come home early.

Red flags

Boards dogs in their own home but cannot give you a council licence number to confirm with Telford and Wrekin [1].

Walks your dog with no stated insurance and will not name an insurer when asked [4].

Quotes for boarding without asking for vaccination proof, vet details or an emergency contact.

Offers group walks but will not say how many dogs go out together or whether yours mixes with strangers' dogs.

Holds keys to your home but shows no criminal-record check and will not say when one was last run [3].

Gives a single price with no breakdown of walks, extras, mileage or bank-holiday terms.

Will not put dates, services and the total in writing before you hand over keys or pay a deposit [4].

Refuses a first meeting at your home before the booking starts.

Questions about pet sitters

Who is the best pet sitter in Telford?

Our table puts AnimaLia Pet Services first: a Donnington Wood walker with published walk rates, certified training and first-aid cover, and a pet taxi run under a DEFRA authorisation. It is the only firm here with prices, paperwork and qualifications all on the record. Read its card and the two below it, then get written quotes on the same scope before you decide.

Does my home boarder need a licence?

Yes. Anyone boarding cats or dogs in Telford — kennels, home boarders and day care — must hold an animal activity licence from Telford and Wrekin Council, with a star rating of one to five [1] [2]. Walkers and drop-in sitters need none. Ask for the licence number and star rating, confirm both with the council's licensing team, and walk away from a boarder who cannot give you a number [1].

What should a pet sitting quote show?

Dates and times, whether walks are solo or group and how many dogs go out together, how many animals are covered, mileage charges, extras such as medication or second visits, bank-holiday terms, and the total. Only one firm in this round publishes rates, so the written quote is your only protection elsewhere. Get two or three quotes on the same scope and compare them line by line before you book.

Should I meet the sitter before booking?

Yes, always at your home. A first meeting shows you how the sitter handles your pet and lets them note feed times, vet details, emergency contacts and behaviour quirks on a booking form [4]. One Telford walker charges a small fee for this meeting and discounts it off the first invoice. Never hand over keys or pay a deposit to someone who refuses to meet first.

How do I check who holds my house keys?

Ask to see the sitter's criminal-record certificate and check its date — most sitters are self-employed, so they request the check themselves and show you the paper [3]. A check never expires on paper but only covers the day it ran, and the DBS update service lets some holders prove theirs is current [3]. Ask for the public liability insurance certificate in the same message, and keep copies of both [4].

Will kennels want vaccination proof?

Expect it. Licensed kennels and catteries require proof of vaccination before entry, and good home boarders ask for vet details and an emergency contact as standard. Have the certificate ready when you enquire and ask what happens if a booster lapses mid-stay. A boarder who asks for no health detail at all has told you plenty — take your dates elsewhere.

What does pet sitting cost in Telford?

As of autumn 2026, the only published figures are one walker's: solo walks from twelve pounds fifty to seventeen pounds fifty, group walks to fifteen pounds, and field sessions at twenty pounds. Every other firm here is quote-only, so boarding, day care and visit prices all come from written quotes. Small sitters usually sit below the VAT threshold, but ask whether the total includes it [7].

Cat sitter or cattery — which suits us?

Cats usually do better with visits at home, which is where The Cat's Pyjamas in Ironbridge fits. A cattery suits longer absences or multi-cat houses — Cottage Boarding Kennels and Cattery offers heated chalets outside Telford with owners on site round the clock. Compare the sitter's visit length against the cattery's vaccination rules and price, then pick the calmer option for your cat.

How is this ranking decided?

We began with twenty-two local candidates and scored those that met our basic checks: each business is who it says it is, is trading today and can be reached, and holds anything the law requires. What customers say counts most, then qualifications, then trading history and cover, then pricing clarity and website detail. Firms are listed in score order.

How often is the ranking updated?

Each round carries its evidence date — this one is dated early September 2026 — so you can see how fresh every check is. We reassess the table as new evidence arrives and publish a new round when the picture changes. If you run one of the firms listed, use the Claim a listing link on the page to send updated detail for the next round.

The bottom line

For most Telford homes, start with AnimaLia: priced walks you can check before you call, trained cover behind the name, and services from sitting to pet taxi. If you would rather board in a sitter's home, Kerrina's Canine Care and Haydens Home Dog Boarding both put their licence numbers on the page.

Match the firm to the job: Newport Pet Services for tracked walks, Blossom's for behaviour-aware care, Cottage for kennels or a cattery, and The Cat's Pyjamas for cats. Then compare two or three cards on this page, get the quote in writing on the same scope, and meet the sitter before the first booking.

Sources

  1. Telford & Wrekin Council — animal welfare licensing Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  2. GOV.UK — animal activity licensing process: star ratings and licence lengths Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  3. GOV.UK — criminal record checks: DBS checks you can make Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  4. NarpsUK — pet owners information: finding a registered sitter Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  5. GOV.UK — transporting animals in Great Britain: transporter authorisation Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  6. AnimaLia Pet Services — dog walking prices Retrieved 4 September 2026.
  7. GOV.UK — VAT registration threshold Retrieved 4 September 2026.

Corrections and business responses

Tell us what needs checking, or ask to claim a listing and reply to an assessment.